Skip to main content

University of Guyana School of Medicine (UG)

Georgetown, Guyana

Guyana's national medical school, accredited by CAAM-HP.

MD

University of Guyana School of Medicine (UG) is a medical school in Georgetown, Guyana, reviewed by CAAM-HP (Accredited with conditions). The MD program runs 4 years at See the current official fee schedule. MCAT: Not required. Clinical rotations: Guyana.

About the School

The University of Guyana School of Medicine is Guyana's national medical school, based in Georgetown at the University of Guyana. It offers the Doctor of Medicine programme in English, with clinical training in Guyanese public hospitals, and its primary mission is to train doctors for the Guyanese and wider Caribbean health system. The programme is CAAM-HP accredited (with conditions). Admissions are competitive and typically prioritise Guyanese and CARICOM applicants; international students should confirm eligibility, tuition, and current accreditation status on the University of Guyana's official website.

Accreditation

Accrediting body: CAAM-HP

Current status: Accredited with conditions

CAAM-HP: Accreditation with Conditions for 4 years, 2024–2028 (last updated Jul 2025).

Last verified 2026-06-26

Programs

  • Doctor of Medicine (MD)

    Typical duration: 4 years

Tuition

University of Guyana fees depend on citizenship, programme and national funding policy. Current policy may fund tuition and facilities fees for eligible Guyanese students, while international students are subject to the university's published fee schedule. Medical education is not free for every student - the position depends on citizenship and government-funding rules that apply at the time of enrolment. Refer to the official Admissions Division fee page.

Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website

Admissions

MCAT
Not required
Minimum GPA
-
Prerequisites
Secondary-school science qualifications and programme-specific admission/entrance requirements; official transcripts and supporting documents
Intake periods
Usually September
Application deadlines
Annual application windows; a 2026 second phase ran 8 July?17 August

Clinical rotations

Rotation countries
Guyana
US clinical rotations
Not reported
Canada / UK rotations
Not reported

We list named hospitals only when officially verified.

USMLE preparation & outcomes

The University of Guyana medical programme is primarily designed for Guyanese and regional medical training and is not marketed as a dedicated USMLE-preparation programme. A current official institutional Step 1 or Step 2 CK pass-rate report was not publicly reported on the school's official website. Prospective students should request the latest information directly from the institution.

Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website

Scholarships & financial aid

Eligible Guyanese students may benefit from national tuition-funding policy, while other students should confirm scholarship, loan and payment options directly with the University of Guyana. Government-funded tuition, institutional scholarships and support for international students should be treated as distinct - do not assume overlap.

Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website

Housing & student support

The University of Guyana's Students' Welfare Division provides programmes and services supporting learning, personal growth and well-being. Current university-housing availability and prices should be confirmed directly with the institution before making arrangements.

Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website

Direct flight connections

Approximate economy fares from major hubs to Guyana. Sample estimates - verify with airlines before booking.

FromTypeAirlinesDurationOne-way (USD)Round-trip (USD)
Miami (MIA)
USA
DirectAmerican, Caribbean Airlines4h 30m$260–$580$460–$980
New York (JFK)
USA
DirectCaribbean Airlines, JetBlue5h 30m$280–$620$480–$1050
Toronto (YYZ)
Canada
DirectCaribbean Airlines, Air Canada6h$380–$780$650–$1350
London (LGW)
UK
1-stopBA via Trinidad/Barbados12–16h with layover$620–$1200$1050–$1950

Sample data last verified 2026-06-26. Fares fluctuate by season and demand.

Sources & verification

Key takeaways

  • Accreditation: CAAM-HP - Accredited with conditions.
  • Tuition: See the current official fee schedule.
  • MD duration: 4 years.
  • MCAT: Not required.
  • Rotations: Guyana.

Frequently asked questions

Where is UG School of Medicine located?

University of Guyana School of Medicine is located in Georgetown, Guyana, in the Caribbean.

What programs does UG School of Medicine offer?

University of Guyana School of Medicine offers MD program. The MD program typically takes 4 years.

Is UG School of Medicine accredited?

University of Guyana School of Medicine is reviewed by CAAM-HP. Current status: Accredited with conditions. CAAM-HP: Accreditation with Conditions for 4 years, 2024–2028 (last updated Jul 2025). Prospective students should confirm current recognition on the accreditor's official website before applying.

Is the MCAT required at UG School of Medicine?

MCAT policy: Not required. Applicants should verify the latest admissions requirements directly with the school.

Does UG School of Medicine offer US clinical rotations?

US clinical rotations are not reported as a routine track at University of Guyana School of Medicine. Clinical training is typically completed in Guyana.

What does tuition cost at UG School of Medicine?

Tuition: See the current official fee schedule. Verify the current fee schedule on the official school website - figures change by intake and program stage.

Explore next

Related to UG School of Medicine