Skip to main content

UWI St Augustine Global School of Medicine (UWI-SA)

St Augustine, Trinidad and Tobago

Newer global-track MD programme at UWI St Augustine.

MD

UWI St Augustine Global School of Medicine (UWI-SA) is a medical school in St Augustine, Trinidad and Tobago, reviewed by CAAM-HP (Candidacy). The MD program runs 4 years at See the current official fee schedule. MCAT: Optional. Clinical rotations: Trinidad and Tobago.

About the School

UWI St Augustine Global School of Medicine is a newer, internationally-focused MD track at The University of the West Indies' St Augustine campus in Trinidad and Tobago. It is designed to serve students from outside the traditional CARICOM contributing-country intake, delivered in English, and structured around UWI's established medical curriculum with clinical exposure in Trinidad-based teaching hospitals. The programme currently holds CAAM-HP Candidacy status — a pre-accreditation stage — so applicants should carefully verify what this means for their intended licensure jurisdiction and confirm current programme details on UWI's official website.

Accreditation

Accrediting body: CAAM-HP

Current status: Candidacy

CAAM-HP: Candidacy granted for two years, 2025–2027 (last updated Jan 2026). Candidacy is a pre-accreditation status.

Last verified 2026-06-26

Programs

  • Doctor of Medicine (MD)

    Typical duration: 4 years

Tuition

The UWI Global School of Medicine currently lists MD tuition of $30,000 per year for years one through four. Estimated annual living costs include approximately $5,600 for single-room accommodation, $3,700–$4,500 for meals, $1,600 for personal expenses and $1,500 for books and learning materials. Tuition and estimated living expenses are reported separately on the official schedule.

Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website

Admissions

MCAT
Optional
Minimum GPA
-

Clinical rotations

US clinical rotations
Not reported
Canada / UK rotations
Not reported

We list named hospitals only when officially verified.

USMLE preparation & outcomes

The programme is new and does not yet publish a mature Step 1, Step 2 CK or residency outcome dataset. The curriculum is oriented toward international licensing pathways, but current pass-rate or Match figures should not be presented until the school publishes an official defined cohort. Prospective students should request the latest information directly from the institution.

Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website

Scholarships & financial aid

For applicants meeting the current deadline, the school advertises scholarships ranging from 26% to 40% for applications submitted before July 30, 2026 - treat this as a deadline-based 2026 offer. The school states that GATE funding is unavailable for the MD programme and qualifying courses.

Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website

Housing & student support

The St. Augustine campus provides housing and dorm information, student-development services, clubs, student spaces, a Writing Centre, Health Services Unit and campus security. The currently published single-room accommodation estimate is approximately $5,600 per year, subject to availability and revision.

Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website

Direct flight connections

Approximate economy fares from major hubs to Trinidad and Tobago. Sample estimates - verify with airlines before booking.

FromTypeAirlinesDurationOne-way (USD)Round-trip (USD)
Miami (MIA)
USA
DirectAmerican, Caribbean Airlines4h$220–$520$380–$880
New York (JFK)
USA
DirectCaribbean Airlines, JetBlue5h$260–$580$460–$980
Toronto (YYZ)
Canada
DirectAir Canada, Caribbean Airlines5h 30m$320–$680$560–$1150
London (LGW)
UK
DirectBritish Airways, Virgin Atlantic9h 30m$480–$950$820–$1600

Sample data last verified 2026-06-26. Fares fluctuate by season and demand.

Sources & verification

Key takeaways

  • Accreditation: CAAM-HP - Candidacy.
  • Tuition: See the current official fee schedule.
  • MD duration: 4 years.
  • MCAT: Optional.
  • Rotations: Trinidad and Tobago.

Frequently asked questions

Where is UWI Global located?

UWI St Augustine Global School of Medicine is located in St Augustine, Trinidad and Tobago, in the Caribbean.

What programs does UWI Global offer?

UWI St Augustine Global School of Medicine offers MD program. The MD program typically takes 4 years.

Is UWI Global accredited?

UWI St Augustine Global School of Medicine is reviewed by CAAM-HP. Current status: Candidacy. CAAM-HP: Candidacy granted for two years, 2025–2027 (last updated Jan 2026). Candidacy is a pre-accreditation status. Prospective students should confirm current recognition on the accreditor's official website before applying.

Is the MCAT required at UWI Global?

MCAT policy: Optional. Applicants should verify the latest admissions requirements directly with the school.

Does UWI Global offer US clinical rotations?

US clinical rotations are not reported as a routine track at UWI St Augustine Global School of Medicine. Clinical training is typically completed in Trinidad and Tobago.

What does tuition cost at UWI Global?

Tuition: See the current official fee schedule. Verify the current fee schedule on the official school website - figures change by intake and program stage.

Explore next

Related to UWI Global