Universidad Nacional Pedro Henríquez Ureña (UNPHU)
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Dominican university with an MD programme accredited by CAAM-HP.
Universidad Nacional Pedro Henríquez Ureña (UNPHU) is a medical school in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic, reviewed by CAAM-HP (Accredited with conditions). The MD program runs 4 years at See the current official fee schedule. MCAT: Optional. Clinical rotations: Dominican Republic.
About the School
Universidad Nacional Pedro Henríquez Ureña (UNPHU) is a long-established private university in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic, offering a Doctor of Medicine programme through its Faculty of Health Sciences. Instruction is primarily in Spanish, with clinical training in Dominican teaching hospitals, and the programme serves both Dominican and international students. The UNPHU MD programme is CAAM-HP accredited (with conditions). International applicants should verify language of instruction, admissions prerequisites, and credential-recognition pathways in their intended licensure jurisdiction directly with the university.
Accreditation
Accrediting body: CAAM-HP
Current status: Accredited with conditions
CAAM-HP: Accreditation with Conditions for 5 years, 2024–2029 (last updated Jan 2026).
Last verified 2026-06-26
Programs
Doctor of Medicine (MD)
Typical duration: 4 years
Tuition
UNPHU uses a programme and credit-based fee structure. A current official English-language tuition total for international medical students was not available in the material reviewed, and third-party annual estimates should not be treated as authoritative. A current figure was not publicly reported on the school's official website. Prospective students should request an official fee projection and mandatory-charge breakdown from the institution.
Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website
Admissions
Clinical rotations
We list named hospitals only when officially verified.
USMLE preparation & outcomes
UNPHU has medical graduates practising in several countries, including the United States, but individual alumni success should not be converted into an institutional USMLE pass rate. A current official Step 1 or Step 2 CK cohort report was not publicly reported on the school's official website. Prospective students should request the latest information directly from the institution.
Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website
Scholarships & financial aid
UNPHU offers university scholarship and financial-assistance opportunities. Medicine-specific eligibility and continuation requirements should be confirmed directly with the university. General undergraduate awards should not be assumed to apply to the medical programme.
Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website
Housing & student support
A current official university-housing rate specifically for international medical students was not verified. Prospective students should request support with accommodation, immigration, orientation, counselling, academic advising and transportation directly from the institution.
Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website
Direct flight connections
Approximate economy fares from major hubs to Dominican Republic. Sample estimates - verify with airlines before booking.
| From | Type | Airlines | Duration | One-way (USD) | Round-trip (USD) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Miami (MIA) USA | Direct | American, JetBlue | 2h 15m | $120–$320 | $220–$560 |
New York (JFK) USA | Direct | JetBlue, Delta, American | 4h | $180–$420 | $320–$720 |
Toronto (YYZ) Canada | Direct | Air Canada, WestJet | 4h 30m | $260–$580 | $460–$980 |
Madrid (MAD) Spain | Direct | Iberia, Air Europa | 8h 30m | $420–$850 | $720–$1450 |
Sample data last verified 2026-06-26. Fares fluctuate by season and demand.
Sources & verification
- CAAM-HP Programmes Directory
- Tuition, intakes, prerequisites — placeholder, replace with verified source
Last reviewed: 2026-06-26. If you spot an inaccuracy, let us know.
Key takeaways
- Accreditation: CAAM-HP - Accredited with conditions.
- Tuition: See the current official fee schedule.
- MD duration: 4 years.
- MCAT: Optional.
- Rotations: Dominican Republic.
Frequently asked questions
Where is UNPHU located?
Universidad Nacional Pedro Henríquez Ureña (UNPHU) is located in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic, in the Caribbean.
What programs does UNPHU offer?
Universidad Nacional Pedro Henríquez Ureña (UNPHU) offers MD program. The MD program typically takes 4 years.
Is UNPHU accredited?
Universidad Nacional Pedro Henríquez Ureña (UNPHU) is reviewed by CAAM-HP. Current status: Accredited with conditions. CAAM-HP: Accreditation with Conditions for 5 years, 2024–2029 (last updated Jan 2026). Prospective students should confirm current recognition on the accreditor's official website before applying.
Is the MCAT required at UNPHU?
MCAT policy: Optional. Applicants should verify the latest admissions requirements directly with the school.
Does UNPHU offer US clinical rotations?
US clinical rotations are not reported as a routine track at Universidad Nacional Pedro Henríquez Ureña (UNPHU). Clinical training is typically completed in Dominican Republic.
What does tuition cost at UNPHU?
Tuition: See the current official fee schedule. Verify the current fee schedule on the official school website - figures change by intake and program stage.
Explore next
Related to UNPHU
- All Caribbean medical schoolsBrowse the full directory of MD and Premed programs.
- Side-by-side comparisonCompare accreditation, tuition, MCAT, and rotations.
- Understanding accreditationLearn how CAAM-HP recognition affects licensing.
- Clinical rotations explainedWhere Caribbean medical students train and why it matters.
- US residency for IMGsUSMLE, ECFMG certification, and the Match for Caribbean grads.
- Tuition and financial aidTypical costs, loans, and scholarships across the region.
