Skip to main content

University of Medicine and Health Sciences (UMHS)

Basseterre, Saint Kitts

MD programme based on Saint Kitts.

MD

University of Medicine and Health Sciences (UMHS) is a medical school in Basseterre, Saint Kitts, reviewed by ACCM (Accredited). The MD program runs 4 years at See the current official fee schedule. MCAT: Required for U.S. citizens/permanent residents; recommended but generally not mandatory for Canadian/international applicants. Clinical rotations: Saint Kitts; United States.

About the School

The University of Medicine and Health Sciences (UMHS) is an international medical school based in Basseterre, Saint Kitts, offering a four-year MD programme aimed primarily at North American students. UMHS emphasises small class sizes, close faculty-student mentorship, and structured USMLE preparation, with basic-science semesters on the Saint Kitts campus and clinical rotations at a network of affiliated teaching hospitals in the United States. The MD programme is ACCM accredited. Applicants should confirm current accreditation status, tuition, and clinical rotation network on the UMHS official website before applying.

Accreditation

Accrediting body: ACCM

Current status: Accredited

ACCM: Accredited since May 2015; accredited for six years to June 30, 2031.

Last verified 2026-06-26

Programs

  • Doctor of Medicine (MD)

    Typical duration: 4 years

Tuition

UMHS publishes separate tuition schedules for Basic Sciences, Extended Basic Sciences, the fifth-semester programme and Clinical Sciences. Applicants should use the current official fee page rather than figures reproduced on comparison sites. Tuition is billed separately from administrative fees, insurance, accommodation, transportation and examination costs.

Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website

Admissions

MCAT
Required for U.S. citizens/permanent residents; recommended but generally not mandatory for Canadian/international applicants
Minimum GPA
-
Prerequisites
Approximately 90 college credits; biology, general chemistry, organic chemistry, physics and English; bachelor's degree preferred
Intake periods
January, May, September
Application deadlines
Rolling admissions

Clinical rotations

Rotation countries
Saint Kitts; United States
US clinical rotations
Not reported
Canada / UK rotations
Not reported

We list named hospitals only when officially verified.

USMLE preparation & outcomes

UMHS provides a curriculum designed for U.S. and Canadian licensing pathways, including a fifth semester in Portland, Maine, followed by clinical training in the United States. A Step 1 or Step 2 CK percentage should be displayed only when UMHS's active outcomes page supplies the current cohort, reporting period and first-attempt definition.

Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website

Scholarships & financial aid

UMHS offers institutional scholarship and financing information. Named awards should be confirmed against the active scholarship page. Accreditation status does not automatically confer U.S. federal financial-aid access - eligibility should be verified individually.

Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website

Housing & student support

UMHS provides support for students relocating to Saint Kitts and progressing to the Maine and U.S. clinical phases, including housing assistance, orientation, academic advising, wellness resources and clinical coordination. Rent figures should be taken from the current official housing page.

Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website

Direct flight connections

Approximate economy fares from major hubs to Saint Kitts. Sample estimates - verify with airlines before booking.

FromTypeAirlinesDurationOne-way (USD)Round-trip (USD)
Miami (MIA)
USA
DirectAmerican3h 30m$260–$580$460–$980
New York (JFK)
USA
DirectJetBlue, American4h 30m$280–$620$480–$1050
Toronto (YYZ)
Canada
DirectAir Canada, WestJet (seasonal)5h$380–$780$650–$1350
London (LGW)
UK
1-stopBA via Antigua12–15h with layover$560–$1100$950–$1850

Sample data last verified 2026-06-26. Fares fluctuate by season and demand.

Sources & verification

Key takeaways

  • Accreditation: ACCM - Accredited.
  • Tuition: See the current official fee schedule.
  • MD duration: 4 years.
  • MCAT: Required for U.S. citizens/permanent residents; recommended but generally not mandatory for Canadian/international applicants.
  • Rotations: Saint Kitts; United States.

Frequently asked questions

Where is UMHS located?

University of Medicine and Health Sciences is located in Basseterre, Saint Kitts, in the Caribbean.

What programs does UMHS offer?

University of Medicine and Health Sciences offers MD program. The MD program typically takes 4 years.

Is UMHS accredited?

University of Medicine and Health Sciences is reviewed by ACCM. Current status: Accredited. ACCM: Accredited since May 2015; accredited for six years to June 30, 2031. Prospective students should confirm current recognition on the accreditor's official website before applying.

Is the MCAT required at UMHS?

MCAT policy: Required for U.S. citizens/permanent residents; recommended but generally not mandatory for Canadian/international applicants. Applicants should verify the latest admissions requirements directly with the school.

Does UMHS offer US clinical rotations?

US clinical rotations are not reported as a routine track at University of Medicine and Health Sciences. Clinical training is typically completed in Saint Kitts; United States.

What does tuition cost at UMHS?

Tuition: See the current official fee schedule. Verify the current fee schedule on the official school website - figures change by intake and program stage.

Explore next

Related to UMHS