Universidad Central del Este (UCE)
San Pedro de Macorís, Dominican Republic
Dominican medical programme accredited by CAAM-HP.
Universidad Central del Este (UCE) is a medical school in San Pedro de Macorís, Dominican Republic, reviewed by CAAM-HP (Accredited with conditions). The MD program runs 4 years at See the current official fee schedule. MCAT: Optional. Clinical rotations: Dominican Republic.
About the School
Universidad Central del Este (UCE) is a private university based in San Pedro de Macorís, Dominican Republic, that operates one of the country's long-established medical schools. Its Doctor of Medicine programme is taught primarily in Spanish, with clinical training in Dominican teaching hospitals, and enrolls students from the Dominican Republic and other Latin American and international markets. UCE's medical programme is CAAM-HP accredited (with conditions). Applicants outside the Dominican Republic should verify language of instruction, credential-recognition pathways in their intended jurisdiction, and current accreditation status directly with UCE before applying.
Accreditation
Accrediting body: CAAM-HP
Current status: Accredited with conditions
CAAM-HP: Accreditation with Conditions for 5 years, 2025–2030 (last updated Jan 2026).
Last verified 2026-06-26
Programs
Doctor of Medicine (MD)
Typical duration: 4 years
Tuition
UCE uses its institutional programme and credit-based fee structure. A current English-language total for international medical students was not publicly available in the official material reviewed, and third-party MBBS cost estimates should not be relied upon. A current figure was not publicly reported on the school's official website. Prospective students should request an official quotation from UCE covering tuition, registration, laboratories, clinical training and insurance.
Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website
Admissions
Clinical rotations
We list named hospitals only when officially verified.
USMLE preparation & outcomes
UCE's medical curriculum and hospital rotations may allow eligible graduates to pursue international licensing pathways. A current official institutional Step 1 or Step 2 CK pass-rate report was not publicly reported on the school's official website. USMLE eligibility statements should not be interpreted as outcome rates. Request the latest information directly from the institution.
Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website
Scholarships & financial aid
UCE has a Financial Assistance Department and institutional aid processes. Current medicine-specific scholarship values and eligibility conditions were not clearly published in the material reviewed. Prospective students should request programme-specific aid and payment information directly from the institution.
Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website
Housing & student support
UCE provides university and student services, but a current medical-student housing rate was not verified. International students should ask about recommended accommodation, immigration support, orientation, transport, counselling and campus security when planning their move.
Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website
Direct flight connections
Approximate economy fares from major hubs to Dominican Republic. Sample estimates - verify with airlines before booking.
| From | Type | Airlines | Duration | One-way (USD) | Round-trip (USD) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Miami (MIA) USA | Direct | American, JetBlue | 2h 15m | $120–$320 | $220–$560 |
New York (JFK) USA | Direct | JetBlue, Delta, American | 4h | $180–$420 | $320–$720 |
Toronto (YYZ) Canada | Direct | Air Canada, WestJet | 4h 30m | $260–$580 | $460–$980 |
Madrid (MAD) Spain | Direct | Iberia, Air Europa | 8h 30m | $420–$850 | $720–$1450 |
Sample data last verified 2026-06-26. Fares fluctuate by season and demand.
Sources & verification
- CAAM-HP Programmes Directory
- Tuition, intakes, prerequisites — placeholder, replace with verified source
Last reviewed: 2026-06-26. If you spot an inaccuracy, let us know.
Key takeaways
- Accreditation: CAAM-HP - Accredited with conditions.
- Tuition: See the current official fee schedule.
- MD duration: 4 years.
- MCAT: Optional.
- Rotations: Dominican Republic.
Frequently asked questions
Where is UCE located?
Universidad Central del Este is located in San Pedro de Macorís, Dominican Republic, in the Caribbean.
What programs does UCE offer?
Universidad Central del Este offers MD program. The MD program typically takes 4 years.
Is UCE accredited?
Universidad Central del Este is reviewed by CAAM-HP. Current status: Accredited with conditions. CAAM-HP: Accreditation with Conditions for 5 years, 2025–2030 (last updated Jan 2026). Prospective students should confirm current recognition on the accreditor's official website before applying.
Is the MCAT required at UCE?
MCAT policy: Optional. Applicants should verify the latest admissions requirements directly with the school.
Does UCE offer US clinical rotations?
US clinical rotations are not reported as a routine track at Universidad Central del Este. Clinical training is typically completed in Dominican Republic.
What does tuition cost at UCE?
Tuition: See the current official fee schedule. Verify the current fee schedule on the official school website - figures change by intake and program stage.
Explore next
Related to UCE
- All Caribbean medical schoolsBrowse the full directory of MD and Premed programs.
- Side-by-side comparisonCompare accreditation, tuition, MCAT, and rotations.
- Understanding accreditationLearn how CAAM-HP recognition affects licensing.
- Clinical rotations explainedWhere Caribbean medical students train and why it matters.
- US residency for IMGsUSMLE, ECFMG certification, and the Match for Caribbean grads.
- Tuition and financial aidTypical costs, loans, and scholarships across the region.
