Skip to main content

Texila American University College of Medicine (TAU)

Georgetown, GuyanaFounded 2010

MD programme in Guyana with dual accreditation from CAAM-HP and ACCM.

MDPremed

Texila American University College of Medicine (TAU) is a medical school in Georgetown, Guyana, reviewed by CAAM-HP; ACCM (Accredited with conditions). The MD program runs 4 years at See the current official fee schedule. MCAT: Optional. Clinical rotations: Guyana.

About the School

Texila American University (TAU) College of Medicine is an international medical school based in Georgetown, Guyana, established in 2010. It offers a US-model MD programme designed for students from India, Africa, North America, and other international markets, with instruction delivered in English. The College of Medicine sits within Texila's broader multi-campus health-sciences group, which also operates programmes in Zambia and other partner locations. The Guyana MD programme holds accreditation from CAAM-HP (the Caribbean Accreditation Authority for Education in Medicine and other Health Professions) and ACCM (the Accreditation Commission on Colleges of Medicine), and clinical training is delivered through affiliated teaching hospitals in Guyana with elective rotation opportunities in partnering countries. The campus emphasises small-group teaching, simulation-based clinical skills, and structured preparation for the USMLE licensing pathway. Prospective students should verify the current programme structure, tuition, and accreditation status directly on Texila's official website before applying.

Accreditation

Accrediting body: CAAM-HP; ACCM

Current status: Accredited with conditions

CAAM-HP: Accreditation with Conditions for 3 years, 2023–2026 (Jan 2026). ACCM: Accredited since May 2023; accredited for six years until June 30, 2029.

Last verified 2026-06-26

Programs

  • Doctor of Medicine (MD)

    Typical duration: 4 years

  • Premed Pathway

    Typical duration: 1y 6m

Tuition

TAU's published MD tuition totals approximately $108,000 for the standard programme, while the overall cost of attendance is higher after fees, housing, health insurance, books, travel, licensing examinations and personal expenses. Applicants should refer to the term-by-term official tuition schedule and treat $108,000 as tuition only rather than the complete cost of attendance.

Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website

Admissions

MCAT
Optional
Minimum GPA
-

Clinical rotations

US clinical rotations
Not reported
Canada / UK rotations
Not reported

We list named hospitals only when officially verified.

USMLE preparation & outcomes

TAU reports a 92% USMLE Step 1 first-time pass rate since 2023 and a 90% USMLE Step 2 CK first-time pass rate since 2022. It also reports a 77.8% U.S. residency-placement rate since 2015. Examination pass rates and residency placement are reported separately using TAU's official methodology and reporting periods.

Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website

Scholarships & financial aid

TAU provides scholarship and financial-support information through its Tuition and Aid resources. Eligible students may explore approved private education financing, including Sallie Mae where applicable. Scholarships and loans are subject to individual eligibility and approval and should not be treated as guaranteed.

Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website

Housing & student support

TAU supports international students with relocation, accommodation guidance, visa matters, academic advising and student services in Guyana. Housing prices should be taken from the current official housing schedule. Academic support is provided across Basic Sciences, USMLE preparation, clinical training and residency planning.

Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website

Direct flight connections

Approximate economy fares from major hubs to Guyana. Sample estimates - verify with airlines before booking.

FromTypeAirlinesDurationOne-way (USD)Round-trip (USD)
Miami (MIA)
USA
DirectAmerican, Caribbean Airlines4h 30m$260–$580$460–$980
New York (JFK)
USA
DirectCaribbean Airlines, JetBlue5h 30m$280–$620$480–$1050
Toronto (YYZ)
Canada
DirectCaribbean Airlines, Air Canada6h$380–$780$650–$1350
London (LGW)
UK
1-stopBA via Trinidad/Barbados12–16h with layover$620–$1200$1050–$1950

Sample data last verified 2026-06-26. Fares fluctuate by season and demand.

Sources & verification

Key takeaways

  • Accreditation: CAAM-HP; ACCM - Accredited with conditions.
  • Tuition: See the current official fee schedule.
  • MD duration: 4 years.
  • MCAT: Optional.
  • Rotations: Guyana.
  • Founded: 2010.

Frequently asked questions

Where is Texila located?

Texila American University College of Medicine is located in Georgetown, Guyana, in the Caribbean.

What programs does Texila offer?

Texila American University College of Medicine offers MD and Premed programs. The MD program typically takes 4 years.

Is Texila accredited?

Texila American University College of Medicine is reviewed by CAAM-HP; ACCM. Current status: Accredited with conditions. CAAM-HP: Accreditation with Conditions for 3 years, 2023–2026 (Jan 2026). ACCM: Accredited since May 2023; accredited for six years until June 30, 2029. Prospective students should confirm current recognition on the accreditor's official website before applying.

Is the MCAT required at Texila?

MCAT policy: Optional. Applicants should verify the latest admissions requirements directly with the school.

Does Texila offer US clinical rotations?

US clinical rotations are not reported as a routine track at Texila American University College of Medicine. Clinical training is typically completed in Guyana.

What does tuition cost at Texila?

Tuition: See the current official fee schedule. Verify the current fee schedule on the official school website - figures change by intake and program stage.

Explore next

Related to Texila