Skip to main content

St. Matthew's University School of Medicine (SMU)

Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

MD programme based in the Cayman Islands.

MD

St. Matthew's University School of Medicine (SMU) is a medical school in Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands, reviewed by ACCM (Accredited). The MD program runs 4 years at See the current official fee schedule. MCAT: Required for U.S. citizens; generally not required for non-U.S. applicants. Clinical rotations: Cayman Islands; United States; select Canadian rotations/electives.

About the School

St. Matthew's University School of Medicine is an international medical school located on Grand Cayman in the Cayman Islands, offering a four-year MD programme. The curriculum follows a US-model structure with pre-clinical education on the Grand Cayman campus and clinical rotations at affiliated teaching hospitals primarily in the United States. St. Matthew's is ACCM accredited and enrolls a predominantly North American student body. Applicants should verify current accreditation status, tuition, and clinical rotation availability on the school's official website before applying.

Accreditation

Accrediting body: ACCM

Current status: Accredited

ACCM: Accredited since 2001; accredited for six years to June 30, 2031.

Last verified 2026-06-26

Programs

  • Doctor of Medicine (MD)

    Typical duration: 4 years

Tuition

SMU publishes MD tuition and fee information through its official programme and tuition pages. Basic Sciences, Clinical Medicine, administrative, insurance and other costs are reported separately on the current schedule. Housing and personal living expenses in Grand Cayman are billed outside tuition. Confirm the figures that apply to your entry cohort before enrolling.

Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website

Admissions

MCAT
Required for U.S. citizens; generally not required for non-U.S. applicants
Minimum GPA
-
Prerequisites
Biology, general chemistry, organic chemistry and English; physics and additional science coursework recommended
Intake periods
January, May, September
Application deadlines
Rolling admissions

Clinical rotations

Rotation countries
Cayman Islands; United States; select Canadian rotations/electives
US clinical rotations
Not reported
Canada / UK rotations
Not reported

We list named hospitals only when officially verified.

USMLE preparation & outcomes

SMU reports a 90% USMLE Step 1 first-time pass rate for calendar years 2022–2024 and a 97% USMLE Step 2 CK first-time pass rate for 2024. It also reports a 100% residency-placement rate under its defined methodology. Applicants should review SMU's official eligibility definitions and reporting periods on the outcomes page alongside these figures.

Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website

Scholarships & financial aid

Eligible U.S. students may access applicable U.S. federal financial aid. SMU also advertises academic scholarships of up to $135,000 per eligible student, along with the Merit Scholarship, Opportunity Grant, Transfer Scholarship and other awards. The advertised maximum is not automatic - eligibility and renewal requirements apply.

Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website

Housing & student support

SMU's Housing Coordinator helps students locate rental accommodation in Grand Cayman, and admissions staff can assist with travel and visa guidance. Student Support Services provide academic and personal guidance from Basic Sciences through U.S. clinical rotations. University housing is not guaranteed - most students arrange private rentals with SMU's assistance.

Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website

Direct flight connections

Approximate economy fares from major hubs to Cayman Islands. Sample estimates - verify with airlines before booking.

FromTypeAirlinesDurationOne-way (USD)Round-trip (USD)
Miami (MIA)
USA
DirectAmerican, Cayman Airways1h 20m$180–$420$320–$720
New York (JFK)
USA
DirectCayman Airways, JetBlue3h 45m$260–$580$460–$980
Toronto (YYZ)
Canada
DirectAir Canada Rouge, WestJet4h$320–$680$560–$1150
London (LHR)
UK
DirectBritish Airways10h$480–$950$820–$1600

Sample data last verified 2026-06-26. Fares fluctuate by season and demand.

Sources & verification

Key takeaways

  • Accreditation: ACCM - Accredited.
  • Tuition: See the current official fee schedule.
  • MD duration: 4 years.
  • MCAT: Required for U.S. citizens; generally not required for non-U.S. applicants.
  • Rotations: Cayman Islands; United States; select Canadian rotations/electives.

Frequently asked questions

Where is St. Matthew's located?

St. Matthew's University School of Medicine is located in Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands, in the Caribbean.

What programs does St. Matthew's offer?

St. Matthew's University School of Medicine offers MD program. The MD program typically takes 4 years.

Is St. Matthew's accredited?

St. Matthew's University School of Medicine is reviewed by ACCM. Current status: Accredited. ACCM: Accredited since 2001; accredited for six years to June 30, 2031. Prospective students should confirm current recognition on the accreditor's official website before applying.

Is the MCAT required at St. Matthew's?

MCAT policy: Required for U.S. citizens; generally not required for non-U.S. applicants. Applicants should verify the latest admissions requirements directly with the school.

Does St. Matthew's offer US clinical rotations?

US clinical rotations are not reported as a routine track at St. Matthew's University School of Medicine. Clinical training is typically completed in Cayman Islands; United States; select Canadian rotations/electives.

What does tuition cost at St. Matthew's?

Tuition: See the current official fee schedule. Verify the current fee schedule on the official school website - figures change by intake and program stage.

Explore next

Related to St. Matthew's