Skip to main content

St. George's University School of Medicine (SGU)

True Blue, GrenadaFounded 1976

Long-established international medical school. Voluntarily withdrew from CAAM-HP in January 2021; accreditation is now overseen by the Grenada Medical and Dental Council (GMDC), Grenada's national accrediting authority.

MDPremed

St. George's University School of Medicine (SGU) is a medical school in True Blue, Grenada, reviewed by Grenada Medical and Dental Council (GMDC) (Accredited). The MD program runs 4 years at See the current official fee schedule. MCAT: Required for U.S. citizens/permanent residents; generally not required for other applicants unless their home jurisdiction requires it. Clinical rotations: Grenada; United States; United Kingdom; select Canadian opportunities.

About the School

St. George's University (SGU) School of Medicine is one of the largest and longest-running international medical schools in the Caribbean, founded in 1976 on the True Blue campus in Grenada. It offers a four-year MD programme that combines basic-science terms in Grenada with clinical clerkships across a large network of affiliated teaching hospitals in the United States and the United Kingdom. SGU also operates pre-medical and combined-degree pathways, and enrolls students from more than 140 countries, giving it a distinctly international student body. Accreditation of the MD programme is overseen by the Grenada Medical and Dental Council (GMDC), Grenada's national medical accreditation authority, which is recognised by the World Federation for Medical Education (WFME). Prospective applicants should confirm current programme structure, tuition, and clinical rotation availability directly on the school's official website.

Accreditation

Accrediting body: Grenada Medical and Dental Council (GMDC)

Current status: Accredited

Recognised programme under Grenada's national medical accreditation authority (GMDC). GMDC is WFME-recognised. Verify current status on the GMDC website.

Last verified 2026-06-26

Programs

  • Doctor of Medicine (MD)

    Typical duration: 4 years

  • Premed Pathway

    Typical duration: 1y 6m

Tuition

Tuition Breakdown

Year 1US$65,500 - US$67,500
Year 2US$82,000 - US$84,000
Year 3US$106,000 - US$108,000
Year 4US$71,000 -US$73,000

SGU publishes separate tuition and fee schedules based on programme track and academic stage. Applicants should link to the current schedule and separate tuition from administrative fees, health insurance, housing and living expenses. A single universal total is misleading because costs differ across SGU's four-, five-, six- and seven-year entry tracks. Confirm the figures that apply to your track before enrolling.

Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website

Admissions

MCAT
Required for U.S. citizens/permanent residents; generally not required for other applicants unless their home jurisdiction requires it
Minimum GPA
-
Prerequisites
4-year MD: undergraduate degree/strong college record; biology, chemistry and other premedical sciences. Earlier-entry pathways have secondary-school science requirements.
Intake periods
January, April, August
Application deadlines
Rolling admissions; apply before the chosen term fills

Clinical rotations

Rotation countries
Grenada; United States; United Kingdom; select Canadian opportunities
US clinical rotations
Not reported
Canada / UK rotations
Not reported

We list named hospitals only when officially verified.

USMLE preparation & outcomes

SGU reports an 81% USMLE Step 1 first-time pass rate and a 93% USMLE Step 2 CK first-time pass rate among international students for calendar years 2020–2024. These figures use SGU's official definition of "international student" and its certification requirements. Residency outcomes are reported separately from examination pass rates.

Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website

Scholarships & financial aid

SGU offers need-based, merit-based, regional and pathway-related scholarships and grants. Eligible students may also access applicable government or private financing. Award amount, renewal and citizenship requirements vary by programme, so applicants should contact the financial-planning team rather than assume a specific aid package.

Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website

Housing & student support

SGU offers campus accommodation in Grenada and student support covering academics, health, wellness, disability services, career development and the transition to clinical training. Housing prices should be taken from the current room-and-board schedule, which identifies meal plans, deposits and term length. Confirm current availability directly with SGU.

Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website

Direct flight connections

Approximate economy fares from major hubs to Grenada. Sample estimates - verify with airlines before booking.

FromTypeAirlinesDurationOne-way (USD)Round-trip (USD)
Miami (MIA)
USA
DirectAmerican4h$280–$580$480–$980
New York (JFK)
USA
DirectJetBlue, American, Caribbean Airlines5h$300–$650$520–$1100
Toronto (YYZ)
Canada
DirectAir Canada Rouge, Caribbean Airlines5h 30m$380–$780$650–$1350
London (LGW)
UK
DirectBritish Airways, Virgin Atlantic9h$520–$1050$900–$1750

Sample data last verified 2026-06-26. Fares fluctuate by season and demand.

Sources & verification

Key takeaways

  • Accreditation: Grenada Medical and Dental Council (GMDC) - Accredited.
  • Tuition: See the current official fee schedule.
  • MD duration: 4 years.
  • MCAT: Required for U.S. citizens/permanent residents; generally not required for other applicants unless their home jurisdiction requires it.
  • Rotations: Grenada; United States; United Kingdom; select Canadian opportunities.
  • Founded: 1976.

Frequently asked questions

Where is St. George's University located?

St. George's University School of Medicine is located in True Blue, Grenada, in the Caribbean.

What programs does St. George's University offer?

St. George's University School of Medicine offers MD and Premed programs. The MD program typically takes 4 years.

Is St. George's University accredited?

St. George's University School of Medicine is reviewed by Grenada Medical and Dental Council (GMDC). Current status: Accredited. Recognised programme under Grenada's national medical accreditation authority (GMDC). GMDC is WFME-recognised. Verify current status on the GMDC website. Prospective students should confirm current recognition on the accreditor's official website before applying.

Is the MCAT required at St. George's University?

MCAT policy: Required for U.S. citizens/permanent residents; generally not required for other applicants unless their home jurisdiction requires it. Applicants should verify the latest admissions requirements directly with the school.

Does St. George's University offer US clinical rotations?

US clinical rotations are not reported as a routine track at St. George's University School of Medicine. Clinical training is typically completed in Grenada; United States; United Kingdom; select Canadian opportunities.

What does tuition cost at St. George's University?

Tuition: See the current official fee schedule. Verify the current fee schedule on the official school website - figures change by intake and program stage.

Explore next

Related to St. George's University