Saint James School of Medicine (SJSM)
Anguilla
MD programme with campuses in Anguilla and Saint Vincent and the Grenadines.
Saint James School of Medicine (SJSM) is a medical school in Anguilla, reviewed by ACCM (Accredited). The MD program runs 4 years at See the current official fee schedule. MCAT: Not required. Clinical rotations: Saint Vincent; United States.
About the School
Saint James School of Medicine (SJSM) is an international medical school with campuses in Anguilla and Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, offering a four-year MD programme. SJSM markets itself on relatively lower tuition than many peers and rolling multiple annual intakes; pre-clinical education is delivered on the Caribbean campuses and clinical rotations are arranged at affiliated teaching hospitals, primarily in the United States. The MD programme is ACCM accredited; the CAAM-HP directory currently lists SJSM as "Voluntarily Withdrawn," so ACCM is the active accrediting body. Applicants should carefully review what this means for their intended licensure jurisdiction and confirm current details on SJSM's official website.
Accreditation
Accrediting body: ACCM
Current status: Accredited
ACCM: Accredited since May 2019; accredited for three years until December 31, 2028. CAAM-HP listing notes 'Voluntarily Withdrawn' (Jul 2024) — ACCM remains the active accreditor.
Last verified 2026-06-26
Programs
Doctor of Medicine (MD)
Typical duration: 4 years
Tuition
SJSM publishes a detailed tuition-and-fee table and positions itself as a lower-cost accredited medical school. Applicants should use the current official table rather than relying on comparative marketing claims. Basic Sciences, Clinical Sciences, administrative, examination, insurance and other charges are reported separately. Confirm the figures that apply to the current campus and entry cohort before enrolling.
Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website
Admissions
Clinical rotations
We list named hospitals only when officially verified.
USMLE preparation & outcomes
SJSM has published a formal clarification regarding historical public discussion of its USMLE outcomes and the methodology used to calculate pass rates. An outcome percentage should be displayed only when the current official page supplies the numerator, denominator, cohort period and first-attempt definition. A current independently interpretable figure was not publicly reported on the school's official website in the material reviewed.
Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website
Scholarships & financial aid
SJSM offers institutional scholarships and financial-assistance options. Award values and requirements vary by applicant and intake. Named scholarships should be confirmed against the active scholarship page before applying, and a tuition discount or payment arrangement should never be described as a guaranteed scholarship. Ask the admissions office about renewal terms.
Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website
Housing & student support
Housing and student-life information for SJSM should be described using the current campus of instruction. Once the campus record is verified, this section will summarise relocation assistance, accommodation, academic support and clinical transition applicable to that campus. In the meantime, applicants should request current housing details directly from SJSM.
Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website
Direct flight connections
Approximate economy fares from major hubs to Anguilla. Sample estimates - verify with airlines before booking.
| From | Type | Airlines | Duration | One-way (USD) | Round-trip (USD) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Miami (MIA) USA | 1-stop | American, JetBlue via SXM | 6–9h with layover | $320–$620 | $550–$1050 |
New York (JFK) USA | 1-stop | JetBlue via SXM, American via SJU | 7–10h with layover | $360–$680 | $620–$1150 |
London (LHR) UK | 1-stop | BA via Antigua, Virgin via SXM | 12–16h with layover | $620–$1150 | $1050–$1850 |
Toronto (YYZ) Canada | 1-stop | Air Canada via ANU, WestJet via SXM | 8–11h with layover | $420–$780 | $720–$1350 |
Sample data last verified 2026-06-26. Fares fluctuate by season and demand.
Sources & verification
- ACCM Accredited Medical Schools
- Tuition, intakes, prerequisites — placeholder, replace with verified source
Last reviewed: 2026-06-26. If you spot an inaccuracy, let us know.
Key takeaways
- Accreditation: ACCM - Accredited.
- Tuition: See the current official fee schedule.
- MD duration: 4 years.
- MCAT: Not required.
- Rotations: Saint Vincent; United States.
Frequently asked questions
Where is SJSM located?
Saint James School of Medicine is located in Anguilla, in the Caribbean.
What programs does SJSM offer?
Saint James School of Medicine offers MD program. The MD program typically takes 4 years.
Is SJSM accredited?
Saint James School of Medicine is reviewed by ACCM. Current status: Accredited. ACCM: Accredited since May 2019; accredited for three years until December 31, 2028. CAAM-HP listing notes 'Voluntarily Withdrawn' (Jul 2024) — ACCM remains the active accreditor. Prospective students should confirm current recognition on the accreditor's official website before applying.
Is the MCAT required at SJSM?
MCAT policy: Not required. Applicants should verify the latest admissions requirements directly with the school.
Does SJSM offer US clinical rotations?
US clinical rotations are not reported as a routine track at Saint James School of Medicine. Clinical training is typically completed in Saint Vincent; United States.
What does tuition cost at SJSM?
Tuition: See the current official fee schedule. Verify the current fee schedule on the official school website - figures change by intake and program stage.
Explore next
Related to SJSM
- All Caribbean medical schoolsBrowse the full directory of MD and Premed programs.
- Side-by-side comparisonCompare accreditation, tuition, MCAT, and rotations.
- Understanding accreditationLearn how ACCM recognition affects licensing.
- Clinical rotations explainedWhere Caribbean medical students train and why it matters.
- US residency for IMGsUSMLE, ECFMG certification, and the Match for Caribbean grads.
- Tuition and financial aidTypical costs, loans, and scholarships across the region.
