Skip to main content

Ross University School of Medicine (RUSM)

Bridgetown, BarbadosFounded 1978

Long-established international medical school with a Barbados campus and a US-focused clinical rotation network.

MD

Ross University School of Medicine (RUSM) is a medical school in Bridgetown, Barbados, reviewed by CAAM-HP (Accredited with conditions). The MD program runs 4 years at See the current official fee schedule. MCAT: Required for U.S. citizens/permanent residents; policies for other applicants vary. Clinical rotations: Barbados (medical sciences); United States (clinical training).

About the School

Ross University School of Medicine (RUSM) is one of the longest-established international medical schools serving North American students. Founded in 1978 and originally based in Dominica, RUSM relocated its main campus to Bridgetown, Barbados in 2019 following Hurricane Maria. It offers a four-year MD programme with pre-clinical semesters in Barbados and clinical rotations at a broad network of affiliated teaching hospitals across the United States. RUSM is part of Adtalem Global Education and its MD programme is CAAM-HP accredited (with conditions). Applicants should verify current accreditation, clinical affiliations, and outcomes data on the school's official website.

Accreditation

Accrediting body: CAAM-HP

Current status: Accredited with conditions

CAAM-HP: Accredited with Conditions until the next site visit (last updated Jul 2025).

Last verified 2026-06-26

Programs

  • Doctor of Medicine (MD)

    Typical duration: 4 years

Tuition

Ross publishes a term-by-term tuition and fee schedule; the current 2026–2027 schedule should be used rather than older 2025–2026 figures. Medical Sciences tuition, Clinical Sciences tuition, administrative fees, health insurance, educational-technology charges and estimated living costs are reported separately. Cost-of-attendance allowances are estimates, not direct university charges. Confirm current amounts on the official schedule before enrolling.

Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website

Admissions

MCAT
Required for U.S. citizens/permanent residents; policies for other applicants vary
Minimum GPA
-
Prerequisites
Bachelor's degree or equivalent; biology, general/inorganic chemistry, organic chemistry, physics and English/humanities preparation
Intake periods
January, May, September
Application deadlines
Rolling admissions; term-specific seat and document timelines apply

Clinical rotations

Rotation countries
Barbados (medical sciences); United States (clinical training)
US clinical rotations
Not reported
Canada / UK rotations
Not reported

We list named hospitals only when officially verified.

USMLE preparation & outcomes

Ross reports an 83% USMLE Step 1 first-time pass rate and a 92% USMLE Step 2 CK first-time pass rate for the combined 2020–2024 period. The curriculum includes cATL academic support, individual and group preparation, test-taking strategy and other USMLE-focused resources. Residency-application support is provided separately from examination-pass reporting, using Ross's official definitions.

Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website

Scholarships & financial aid

Ross offers institutional scholarships, grants and financing resources. The school reports awarding more than $140 million in scholarships and grants since 2020. Its International Scholar Award may provide substantial tuition and housing support to eligible students, but the amount and eligibility depend on the intake and applicant. No award or loan should be treated as automatic.

Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website

Housing & student support

Ross supports students living near its Barbados campus, including accommodation connected with The Villages at Coverley. Housing grants may be included as part of selected scholarship programmes. Rent, availability, leases, utilities and transport should be confirmed for the student's start date. Academic advising, wellness resources and residency-preparation support are provided throughout the programme.

Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website

Direct flight connections

Approximate economy fares from major hubs to Barbados. Sample estimates - verify with airlines before booking.

FromTypeAirlinesDurationOne-way (USD)Round-trip (USD)
Miami (MIA)
USA
DirectAmerican4h$240–$520$420–$880
New York (JFK)
USA
DirectJetBlue, American, Caribbean Airlines5h$260–$580$460–$980
Toronto (YYZ)
Canada
DirectAir Canada, WestJet5h 30m$300–$650$520–$1100
London (LGW)
UK
DirectBritish Airways, Virgin Atlantic8h 30m$420–$880$720–$1500

Sample data last verified 2026-06-26. Fares fluctuate by season and demand.

Sources & verification

Key takeaways

  • Accreditation: CAAM-HP - Accredited with conditions.
  • Tuition: See the current official fee schedule.
  • MD duration: 4 years.
  • MCAT: Required for U.S. citizens/permanent residents; policies for other applicants vary.
  • Rotations: Barbados (medical sciences); United States (clinical training).
  • Founded: 1978.

Frequently asked questions

Where is Ross University located?

Ross University School of Medicine is located in Bridgetown, Barbados, in the Caribbean.

What programs does Ross University offer?

Ross University School of Medicine offers MD program. The MD program typically takes 4 years.

Is Ross University accredited?

Ross University School of Medicine is reviewed by CAAM-HP. Current status: Accredited with conditions. CAAM-HP: Accredited with Conditions until the next site visit (last updated Jul 2025). Prospective students should confirm current recognition on the accreditor's official website before applying.

Is the MCAT required at Ross University?

MCAT policy: Required for U.S. citizens/permanent residents; policies for other applicants vary. Applicants should verify the latest admissions requirements directly with the school.

Does Ross University offer US clinical rotations?

US clinical rotations are not reported as a routine track at Ross University School of Medicine. Clinical training is typically completed in Barbados (medical sciences); United States (clinical training).

What does tuition cost at Ross University?

Tuition: See the current official fee schedule. Verify the current fee schedule on the official school website - figures change by intake and program stage.

Explore next

Related to Ross University