Ponce Health Sciences University School of Medicine — BVI (Ponce-BVI)
British Virgin Islands
MD programme operated by Tiber Health Public Benefit Corporation / Ponce Health Sciences University in the British Virgin Islands.
Ponce Health Sciences University School of Medicine — BVI (Ponce-BVI) is a medical school in British Virgin Islands, reviewed by ACCM (Preliminary accreditation). The MD program runs 4 years at See the current official fee schedule. MCAT: Optional. Clinical rotations: British Virgin Islands.
About the School
Ponce Health Sciences University — BVI is a Caribbean extension of the well-known Ponce Health Sciences University of Puerto Rico, operated by Tiber Health Public Benefit Corporation in the British Virgin Islands. It offers a four-year MD programme built on Ponce's established US-model curriculum, with pre-clinical education delivered locally and clinical rotations at affiliated teaching hospitals. The BVI programme currently holds ACCM Preliminary Accreditation (effective March 2024) — an early accreditation stage — so applicants should carefully review what this means for their intended licensure jurisdiction and verify current programme details on the school's official website.
Accreditation
Accrediting body: ACCM
Current status: Preliminary accreditation
ACCM: Preliminary Accreditation effective March 1, 2024.
Last verified 2026-06-26
Programs
Doctor of Medicine (MD)
Typical duration: 4 years
Tuition
Ponce Health Sciences University publishes a dedicated 2026–2027 cost-of-attendance schedule for the BVI MD programme. Applicants should use the BVI schedule rather than fees from the Puerto Rico medical programme, which are governed separately. Tuition, mandatory fees and living-cost allowances are presented separately on the official schedule and should be reviewed carefully before enrolling.
Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website
Admissions
Clinical rotations
We list named hospitals only when officially verified.
USMLE preparation & outcomes
Ponce Health Sciences University - BVI is a distinct programme from the Puerto Rico campus, so combined institutional outcomes should not be presented as BVI-campus results. A mature BVI-specific Step 1, Step 2 CK or residency outcome dataset was not publicly reported on the school's official website in the material reviewed. Prospective students should request the latest information directly from the institution.
Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website
Scholarships & financial aid
Ponce-BVI describes institutional scholarships and eligible private educational-loan options, including Sallie Mae for qualifying U.S. citizens and permanent residents. All aid is subject to application, credit and programme requirements. Some scholarships may be restricted by residency, citizenship or other eligibility conditions - confirm terms with the financial-aid office.
Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website
Housing & student support
Ponce-BVI provides information on BVI visa documentation, proof of financial support, student orientation and institutional support. A current official university-housing rate was not verified in the material reviewed. Students should obtain written information about housing availability, deposits, utilities, transportation and hurricane or emergency procedures before travelling.
Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website
Direct flight connections
Approximate economy fares from major hubs to British Virgin Islands. Sample estimates - verify with airlines before booking.
| From | Type | Airlines | Duration | One-way (USD) | Round-trip (USD) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Miami (MIA) USA | 1-stop | American via SJU | 5–8h with layover | $320–$620 | $560–$1050 |
San Juan (SJU) USA (PR) | Direct | Cape Air, InterCaribbean | 40m | $180–$380 | $320–$680 |
Toronto (YYZ) Canada | 1-stop | Air Canada via SJU | 8–11h with layover | $420–$780 | $720–$1350 |
London (LHR) UK | 1-stop | BA via Antigua, Virgin via Antigua | 12–16h with layover | $620–$1150 | $1050–$1900 |
Sample data last verified 2026-06-26. Fares fluctuate by season and demand.
Sources & verification
- ACCM Accredited Medical Schools
- Tuition, intakes, prerequisites — placeholder, replace with verified source
Last reviewed: 2026-06-26. If you spot an inaccuracy, let us know.
Key takeaways
- Accreditation: ACCM - Preliminary accreditation.
- Tuition: See the current official fee schedule.
- MD duration: 4 years.
- MCAT: Optional.
- Rotations: British Virgin Islands.
Frequently asked questions
Where is Ponce / Tiber Health (BVI) located?
Ponce Health Sciences University School of Medicine — BVI is located in British Virgin Islands, in the Caribbean.
What programs does Ponce / Tiber Health (BVI) offer?
Ponce Health Sciences University School of Medicine — BVI offers MD program. The MD program typically takes 4 years.
Is Ponce / Tiber Health (BVI) accredited?
Ponce Health Sciences University School of Medicine — BVI is reviewed by ACCM. Current status: Preliminary accreditation. ACCM: Preliminary Accreditation effective March 1, 2024. Prospective students should confirm current recognition on the accreditor's official website before applying.
Is the MCAT required at Ponce / Tiber Health (BVI)?
MCAT policy: Optional. Applicants should verify the latest admissions requirements directly with the school.
Does Ponce / Tiber Health (BVI) offer US clinical rotations?
US clinical rotations are not reported as a routine track at Ponce Health Sciences University School of Medicine — BVI. Clinical training is typically completed in British Virgin Islands.
What does tuition cost at Ponce / Tiber Health (BVI)?
Tuition: See the current official fee schedule. Verify the current fee schedule on the official school website - figures change by intake and program stage.
Explore next
Related to Ponce / Tiber Health (BVI)
- All Caribbean medical schoolsBrowse the full directory of MD and Premed programs.
- Side-by-side comparisonCompare accreditation, tuition, MCAT, and rotations.
- Understanding accreditationLearn how ACCM recognition affects licensing.
- Clinical rotations explainedWhere Caribbean medical students train and why it matters.
- US residency for IMGsUSMLE, ECFMG certification, and the Match for Caribbean grads.
- Tuition and financial aidTypical costs, loans, and scholarships across the region.
