Skip to main content

Instituto Tecnológico de Santo Domingo (INTEC)

Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic

Spanish-language MD programme at a major Dominican university.

MD

Instituto Tecnológico de Santo Domingo (INTEC) is a medical school in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic, reviewed by CAAM-HP (Accredited with conditions). The MD program runs 4 years at See the current official fee schedule. MCAT: Optional. Clinical rotations: Dominican Republic.

About the School

Instituto Tecnológico de Santo Domingo (INTEC) is one of the leading private universities in the Dominican Republic, and its Medical School offers a Doctor of Medicine programme taught primarily in Spanish. The programme is well established locally and combines biomedical sciences with clinical training in Dominican teaching hospitals. INTEC's MD is CAAM-HP accredited (with conditions). Applicants — particularly international students — should confirm language of instruction, credential-recognition pathways in their home country, and current accreditation status directly with INTEC before applying.

Accreditation

Accrediting body: CAAM-HP

Current status: Accredited with conditions

CAAM-HP: Accredited with Conditions for five (5) years, 2025–2030 (last updated Jan 2026).

Last verified 2026-06-26

Programs

  • Doctor of Medicine (MD)

    Typical duration: 4 years

Tuition

INTEC tuition is determined through its official programme and credit-based fee structure. A single reliable U.S.-dollar total for the complete medical programme was not publicly available in the material reviewed and should not be displayed without confirmation from INTEC. International students should request an official quotation covering registration, laboratory fees, clinical fees, insurance and other mandatory charges specific to their entry cohort.

Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website

Admissions

MCAT
Optional
Minimum GPA
-

Clinical rotations

US clinical rotations
Not reported
Canada / UK rotations
Not reported

We list named hospitals only when officially verified.

USMLE preparation & outcomes

INTEC operates a mentorship programme that supports graduates preparing for the USMLE and the U.S. residency Match. The university has published individual and annual graduate-success stories, but these do not constitute an institutional pass rate. A current official Step 1 or Step 2 CK pass-rate percentage was not publicly reported on the school's official website. Prospective students should request the latest outcomes information directly from the institution.

Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website

Scholarships & financial aid

INTEC offers institutional scholarship and financial-assistance programmes, including merit-related opportunities, and its 2026 medical information references financing options for eligible students. Because older official notices documented changes to U.S. federal-loan participation, U.S. applicants must verify current loan eligibility directly with INTEC before relying on it as part of their financial plan.

Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website

Housing & student support

A current university-residence and housing-rate schedule specifically for international medical students was not located. Prospective students should ask INTEC about recommended accommodation options, international-student orientation, visa support, counselling and transport in Santo Domingo before finalising their plans.

Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website

Direct flight connections

Approximate economy fares from major hubs to Dominican Republic. Sample estimates - verify with airlines before booking.

FromTypeAirlinesDurationOne-way (USD)Round-trip (USD)
Miami (MIA)
USA
DirectAmerican, JetBlue2h 15m$120–$320$220–$560
New York (JFK)
USA
DirectJetBlue, Delta, American4h$180–$420$320–$720
Toronto (YYZ)
Canada
DirectAir Canada, WestJet4h 30m$260–$580$460–$980
Madrid (MAD)
Spain
DirectIberia, Air Europa8h 30m$420–$850$720–$1450

Sample data last verified 2026-06-26. Fares fluctuate by season and demand.

Sources & verification

Key takeaways

  • Accreditation: CAAM-HP - Accredited with conditions.
  • Tuition: See the current official fee schedule.
  • MD duration: 4 years.
  • MCAT: Optional.
  • Rotations: Dominican Republic.

Frequently asked questions

Where is INTEC located?

Instituto Tecnológico de Santo Domingo (INTEC) is located in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic, in the Caribbean.

What programs does INTEC offer?

Instituto Tecnológico de Santo Domingo (INTEC) offers MD program. The MD program typically takes 4 years.

Is INTEC accredited?

Instituto Tecnológico de Santo Domingo (INTEC) is reviewed by CAAM-HP. Current status: Accredited with conditions. CAAM-HP: Accredited with Conditions for five (5) years, 2025–2030 (last updated Jan 2026). Prospective students should confirm current recognition on the accreditor's official website before applying.

Is the MCAT required at INTEC?

MCAT policy: Optional. Applicants should verify the latest admissions requirements directly with the school.

Does INTEC offer US clinical rotations?

US clinical rotations are not reported as a routine track at Instituto Tecnológico de Santo Domingo (INTEC). Clinical training is typically completed in Dominican Republic.

What does tuition cost at INTEC?

Tuition: See the current official fee schedule. Verify the current fee schedule on the official school website - figures change by intake and program stage.

Explore next

Related to INTEC