Bridgetown International University (BIU) is a medical school in Bridgetown, Barbados, reviewed by CAAM-HP (Provisional accreditation). The MD program runs 4 years at See the current official fee schedule. MCAT: Proof of an MCAT or NEET score is required for entry to the 4-year MD/basic-sciences pathway; NEET is required for Indian students entering premed. Clinical rotations: Barbados; United States; India; other university-affiliated international sites.
About the School
Bridgetown International University (BIU) is a private medical school based in Bridgetown, Barbados, offering a four-year MD programme intended for international applicants. The curriculum blends pre-clinical instruction on the Barbados campus with clinical training at affiliated hospitals. BIU's MD programme currently holds CAAM-HP Provisional Accreditation — an early accreditation stage — so applicants should review what this status means for USMLE eligibility and state licensure and verify current details on the school's official website.
Accreditation
Accrediting body: CAAM-HP
Current status: Provisional accreditation
CAAM-HP: Provisional Accreditation for two years, 2025–2027 (last updated Jan 2026).
Last verified 2026-06-26
Programs
Doctor of Medicine (MD)
Typical duration: 4 years
Tuition
BIU maintains tuition-and-fee information through its official website, but a complete itemised current schedule was not reliably available in the official material reviewed. Fee figures published by education agents or on social-media advertisements should not be treated as authoritative. A current figure was not publicly reported on the school's official website. Prospective students should request the latest Basic Sciences, Clinical Sciences, administrative and examination charges directly from the institution.
Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website
Admissions
Clinical rotations
We list named hospitals only when officially verified.
USMLE preparation & outcomes
BIU describes a U.S.-oriented curriculum intended to prepare eligible students for the USMLE pathway. A current official first-time Step 1 or Step 2 CK pass-rate report with a clearly defined cohort and period was not located. Pass-rate percentages appearing in agent listings, advertisements or student testimonials should not be treated as official outcomes. Request the latest information directly from the institution.
Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website
Scholarships & financial aid
BIU publishes scholarship information, but current award values, selection criteria and renewal requirements should be verified directly with the institution. Agent-promoted discounts or scholarship-test offers are not official university financial aid unless confirmed on BIU's own website. Applicants should also ask about payment plans and any approved private financing options.
Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website
Housing & student support
BIU provides information about studying and living in Barbados and may assist students with accommodation arrangements. Current university-controlled housing prices were not verified. Applicants should request written confirmation of accommodation type, security, distance from campus, utilities, transport, deposit and refund policies before making any commitment.
Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website
Direct flight connections
Approximate economy fares from major hubs to Barbados. Sample estimates - verify with airlines before booking.
| From | Type | Airlines | Duration | One-way (USD) | Round-trip (USD) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Miami (MIA) USA | Direct | American | 4h | $240–$520 | $420–$880 |
New York (JFK) USA | Direct | JetBlue, American, Caribbean Airlines | 5h | $260–$580 | $460–$980 |
Toronto (YYZ) Canada | Direct | Air Canada, WestJet | 5h 30m | $300–$650 | $520–$1100 |
London (LGW) UK | Direct | British Airways, Virgin Atlantic | 8h 30m | $420–$880 | $720–$1500 |
Sample data last verified 2026-06-26. Fares fluctuate by season and demand.
Sources & verification
- CAAM-HP Programmes Directory
- Tuition, intakes, prerequisites — placeholder, replace with verified source
Last reviewed: 2026-06-26. If you spot an inaccuracy, let us know.
Key takeaways
- Accreditation: CAAM-HP - Provisional accreditation.
- Tuition: See the current official fee schedule.
- MD duration: 4 years.
- MCAT: Proof of an MCAT or NEET score is required for entry to the 4-year MD/basic-sciences pathway; NEET is required for Indian students entering premed.
- Rotations: Barbados; United States; India; other university-affiliated international sites.
Frequently asked questions
Where is BIU Barbados located?
Bridgetown International University is located in Bridgetown, Barbados, in the Caribbean.
What programs does BIU Barbados offer?
Bridgetown International University offers MD program. The MD program typically takes 4 years.
Is BIU Barbados accredited?
Bridgetown International University is reviewed by CAAM-HP. Current status: Provisional accreditation. CAAM-HP: Provisional Accreditation for two years, 2025–2027 (last updated Jan 2026). Prospective students should confirm current recognition on the accreditor's official website before applying.
Is the MCAT required at BIU Barbados?
MCAT policy: Proof of an MCAT or NEET score is required for entry to the 4-year MD/basic-sciences pathway; NEET is required for Indian students entering premed. Applicants should verify the latest admissions requirements directly with the school.
Does BIU Barbados offer US clinical rotations?
US clinical rotations are not reported as a routine track at Bridgetown International University. Clinical training is typically completed in Barbados; United States; India; other university-affiliated international sites.
What does tuition cost at BIU Barbados?
Tuition: See the current official fee schedule. Verify the current fee schedule on the official school website - figures change by intake and program stage.
Explore next
Related to BIU Barbados
- All Caribbean medical schoolsBrowse the full directory of MD and Premed programs.
- Side-by-side comparisonCompare accreditation, tuition, MCAT, and rotations.
- Understanding accreditationLearn how CAAM-HP recognition affects licensing.
- Clinical rotations explainedWhere Caribbean medical students train and why it matters.
- US residency for IMGsUSMLE, ECFMG certification, and the Match for Caribbean grads.
- Tuition and financial aidTypical costs, loans, and scholarships across the region.
