Bioprist Institute of Medical Sciences (BIMS)
Jamaica
MD programme in Jamaica currently in CAAM-HP candidacy.
Bioprist Institute of Medical Sciences (BIMS) is a medical school in Jamaica, reviewed by CAAM-HP (Candidacy). The MD program runs 4 years at See the current official fee schedule. MCAT: Optional. Clinical rotations: Jamaica.
About the School
Bioprist Institute of Medical Sciences is a Jamaica-based medical school offering an MD programme aimed at both regional and international students. The curriculum follows a standard basic-science plus clinical-rotation model, delivered in English. The programme currently holds CAAM-HP Candidacy status, which is a pre-accreditation stage — students and families should carefully review the implications of candidacy status for licensure and residency eligibility, and verify the latest accreditation position directly on the CAAM-HP directory before applying.
Accreditation
Accrediting body: CAAM-HP
Current status: Candidacy
CAAM-HP: Candidacy Confirmed, 2025–2027 (last updated Jan 2026). Candidacy is a pre-accreditation status — verify on caam-hp.org before applying.
Last verified 2026-06-26
Programs
Doctor of Medicine (MD)
Typical duration: 4 years
Tuition
Tuition Breakdown
BIMS publishes programme and fee information on its official website, but a complete itemised current tuition schedule was not available in the accessible information reviewed. The school notes that USMLE preparation subscriptions, examination charges and certain external certifications may be the student's responsibility and are not necessarily included in tuition. A current figure was not publicly reported on the school's official website. Prospective students should request the latest information directly from the institution.
Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website
Admissions
Clinical rotations
We list named hospitals only when officially verified.
USMLE preparation & outcomes
BIMS describes its medical programme as USMLE-focused, with academic preparation built into the curriculum. USMLE preparation subscriptions and examination fees may not be included in tuition. A current official first-time Step 1 or Step 2 CK pass-rate percentage with a defined cohort was not publicly reported on the school's official website. Prospective students should request the latest information directly from the institution.
Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website
Scholarships & financial aid
BIMS advertises merit- and need-based assistance and limited competitive merit scholarships of up to $70,020. This is a maximum possible award, not an expected award - selection, continuation and programme-stage conditions apply and must be confirmed with the institution. Applicants should ask about eligibility criteria, renewal terms and any payment plans that may be available.
Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website
Housing & student support
BIMS has described plans for new student accommodation in Jamaica targeted for delivery during 2026. Do not assume the residence is operational until the school confirms completion. Prospective students should request current housing availability, rent, deposit terms, transportation options and student-support services directly from BIMS.
Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website
Direct flight connections
Approximate economy fares from major hubs to Jamaica. Sample estimates - verify with airlines before booking.
| From | Type | Airlines | Duration | One-way (USD) | Round-trip (USD) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Miami (MIA) USA | Direct | American, JetBlue, Frontier | 1h 45m | $140–$340 | $240–$580 |
New York (JFK) USA | Direct | JetBlue, Delta, American | 4h | $220–$480 | $380–$820 |
Toronto (YYZ) Canada | Direct | Air Canada, WestJet | 4h | $260–$580 | $460–$980 |
London (LGW) UK | Direct | British Airways, Virgin Atlantic | 9h 30m | $420–$900 | $720–$1500 |
Sample data last verified 2026-06-26. Fares fluctuate by season and demand.
Sources & verification
- CAAM-HP Programmes Directory
- Tuition, intakes, prerequisites — placeholder, replace with verified source
Last reviewed: 2026-06-26. If you spot an inaccuracy, let us know.
Key takeaways
- Accreditation: CAAM-HP - Candidacy.
- Tuition: See the current official fee schedule.
- MD duration: 4 years.
- MCAT: Optional.
- Rotations: Jamaica.
Frequently asked questions
Where is Bioprist located?
Bioprist Institute of Medical Sciences is located in Jamaica, in the Caribbean.
What programs does Bioprist offer?
Bioprist Institute of Medical Sciences offers MD program. The MD program typically takes 4 years.
Is Bioprist accredited?
Bioprist Institute of Medical Sciences is reviewed by CAAM-HP. Current status: Candidacy. CAAM-HP: Candidacy Confirmed, 2025–2027 (last updated Jan 2026). Candidacy is a pre-accreditation status — verify on caam-hp.org before applying. Prospective students should confirm current recognition on the accreditor's official website before applying.
Is the MCAT required at Bioprist?
MCAT policy: Optional. Applicants should verify the latest admissions requirements directly with the school.
Does Bioprist offer US clinical rotations?
US clinical rotations are not reported as a routine track at Bioprist Institute of Medical Sciences. Clinical training is typically completed in Jamaica.
What does tuition cost at Bioprist?
Tuition: See the current official fee schedule. Verify the current fee schedule on the official school website - figures change by intake and program stage.
Explore next
Related to Bioprist
- All Caribbean medical schoolsBrowse the full directory of MD and Premed programs.
- Side-by-side comparisonCompare accreditation, tuition, MCAT, and rotations.
- Understanding accreditationLearn how CAAM-HP recognition affects licensing.
- Clinical rotations explainedWhere Caribbean medical students train and why it matters.
- US residency for IMGsUSMLE, ECFMG certification, and the Match for Caribbean grads.
- Tuition and financial aidTypical costs, loans, and scholarships across the region.
