Skip to main content

Avalon University School of Medicine (AUSOM)

Willemstad, Curaçao

MD programme in Curaçao. Holds active accreditations from both CAAM-HP and ACCM.

MDPremed

Avalon University School of Medicine (AUSOM) is a medical school in Willemstad, Curaçao, reviewed by CAAM-HP; ACCM (Accredited with conditions). The MD program runs 4 years at See the current official fee schedule. MCAT: Not required for Canadian applicants; U.S. and other applicants are reviewed holistically. Clinical rotations: Curaçao.

About the School

Avalon University School of Medicine is an international medical school based in Willemstad, Curaçao, offering a US-model MD programme along with pre-medical pathway options. The curriculum comprises basic-science semesters on the Curaçao campus followed by clinical rotations at affiliated teaching hospitals, primarily in the United States. Avalon is one of a small number of Caribbean schools holding accreditation from both CAAM-HP and ACCM, and its programme prepares students for the USMLE licensing pathway. Applicants should confirm current accreditation status, tuition, and rotation site availability on the school's official website.

Accreditation

Accrediting body: CAAM-HP; ACCM

Current status: Accredited with conditions

CAAM-HP: Accreditation with Conditions, 2023–2027 (Jul 2025). ACCM: Accredited since May 2019, accredited for six years until December 31, 2028.

Last verified 2026-06-26

Programs

  • Doctor of Medicine (MD)

    Typical duration: 4 years

  • Premed Pathway

    Typical duration: 1y 6m

Tuition

Tuition Breakdown

Year 1US$31,000 - US$33,000
Year 2US$20,500 - US$21,500
Year 3US$44,500 - US$46,500
Year 4US$39,500 - US$41,500

Avalon's official cost-of-attendance page estimates approximately $191,255 for the four-year MD pathway, including about $136,500 in tuition and approximately $54,755 for living costs, insurance and educational resources. Clinical Sciences charges include Introduction to Clinical Medicine and six clinical terms. Additional charges may include malpractice insurance, shelf examinations, online learning resources, OSCE and graduation fees, all of which are separate from base tuition.

Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website

Admissions

MCAT
Not required for Canadian applicants; U.S. and other applicants are reviewed holistically
Minimum GPA
-
Prerequisites
College science preparation/degree pathway; academic history, science readiness and supporting materials are reviewed holistically
Intake periods
January, May, September
Application deadlines
Rolling admissions

Clinical rotations

US clinical rotations
Not reported
Canada / UK rotations
Not reported

We list named hospitals only when officially verified.

USMLE preparation & outcomes

Avalon requires students to satisfy institutional academic requirements before progressing through the USMLE pathway. The programme includes USMLE-oriented instruction and students must pass USMLE Step 2 CK before graduation. A current, clearly defined Step 1 or Step 2 CK pass-rate percentage was not publicly reported on the school's official website in the material reviewed. Prospective students should request the latest information directly from the institution.

Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website

Scholarships & financial aid

Avalon publishes an MCAT-based scholarship of up to $50,000 and a Basic Sciences scholarship of up to $20,000, subject to eligibility and continuation terms. It also describes USMLE Step 1 awards and hardship or institutional grants. Eligible U.S. students may apply for the MedInvest private-loan programme. All scholarships and loans are subject to individual application review and are not guaranteed.

Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website

Housing & student support

Avalon publishes campus-housing options in Curaçao. Current semester rates include approximately $5,000 for a standard single room, $2,900 for a standard double room, $6,400 for a suite single room and $4,000 for a suite double room. Deposits and additional conditions may apply. Student support includes academic advising, faculty mentoring and peer support during Basic Sciences and the transition to clinical training.

Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website

Direct flight connections

Approximate economy fares from major hubs to Curaçao. Sample estimates - verify with airlines before booking.

FromTypeAirlinesDurationOne-way (USD)Round-trip (USD)
Miami (MIA)
USA
DirectAmerican3h$220–$480$380–$820
New York (JFK)
USA
DirectJetBlue4h 45m$240–$520$420–$880
Toronto (YYZ)
Canada
1-stopAir Canada via Panama, WestJet via Aruba8–11h with layover$380–$720$650–$1250
Amsterdam (AMS)
Netherlands
DirectKLM, TUI10h$420–$850$720–$1450

Sample data last verified 2026-06-26. Fares fluctuate by season and demand.

Sources & verification

Key takeaways

  • Accreditation: CAAM-HP; ACCM - Accredited with conditions.
  • Tuition: See the current official fee schedule.
  • MD duration: 4 years.
  • MCAT: Not required for Canadian applicants; U.S. and other applicants are reviewed holistically.
  • Rotations: Curaçao.

Frequently asked questions

Where is Avalon located?

Avalon University School of Medicine is located in Willemstad, Curaçao, in the Caribbean.

What programs does Avalon offer?

Avalon University School of Medicine offers MD and Premed programs. The MD program typically takes 4 years.

Is Avalon accredited?

Avalon University School of Medicine is reviewed by CAAM-HP; ACCM. Current status: Accredited with conditions. CAAM-HP: Accreditation with Conditions, 2023–2027 (Jul 2025). ACCM: Accredited since May 2019, accredited for six years until December 31, 2028. Prospective students should confirm current recognition on the accreditor's official website before applying.

Is the MCAT required at Avalon?

MCAT policy: Not required for Canadian applicants; U.S. and other applicants are reviewed holistically. Applicants should verify the latest admissions requirements directly with the school.

Does Avalon offer US clinical rotations?

US clinical rotations are not reported as a routine track at Avalon University School of Medicine. Clinical training is typically completed in Curaçao.

What does tuition cost at Avalon?

Tuition: See the current official fee schedule. Verify the current fee schedule on the official school website - figures change by intake and program stage.

Explore next

Related to Avalon