American University of Barbados (AUB) is a medical school in Barbados, reviewed by CAAM-HP (Accredited with conditions). The MD program runs 4 years at See the current official fee schedule. MCAT: Not listed as a universal requirement; scores may strengthen an application. Clinical rotations: Barbados; United States/affiliated clinical sites.
About the School
American University of Barbados (AUB) School of Medicine is a private international medical school located in Barbados that offers a four-year MD programme aimed at students from the US, Canada, India, and other international markets. The curriculum follows a US-style structure with pre-clinical semesters on the Barbados campus and clinical rotations at affiliated teaching hospitals. AUB's MD programme is CAAM-HP accredited (with conditions). Prospective students should verify the current accreditation status, tuition schedule, and clinical rotation network directly on AUB's official website before applying.
Accreditation
Accrediting body: CAAM-HP
Current status: Accredited with conditions
CAAM-HP: Accredited with Conditions, 2025–2027 (last updated Jan 2026).
Last verified 2026-06-26
Programs
Doctor of Medicine (MD)
Typical duration: 4 years
Tuition
Tuition Breakdown
AUB describes its MD programme as having an affordable fee structure, but a clearly itemised current tuition schedule was not located in the publicly accessible official material reviewed. A current figure was not publicly reported on the school's official website. Prospective students should request the latest semester-by-semester tuition, administrative fees, clinical fees and total estimated cost of attendance directly from the institution before making any financial commitment.
Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website
Admissions
Clinical rotations
We list named hospitals only when officially verified.
USMLE preparation & outcomes
AUB describes its curriculum as including integrated preparation for the USMLE pathway. A current official Step 1 or Step 2 CK pass-rate report with a clearly defined cohort and reporting period was not located on the school's official website. A current figure was not publicly reported on the school's official website. Prospective students should request the latest official outcomes information directly from the institution.
Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website
Scholarships & financial aid
AUB has previously published merit-based, need-based and other scholarship opportunities. Current award amounts, application windows and continuation requirements should be confirmed directly with the university. Do not rely on figures reproduced in older scholarship brochures or third-party websites unless AUB confirms they apply to the current intake. Applicants should also ask about payment plans and any approved private-loan channels.
Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website
Housing & student support
A current official housing-rate schedule was not publicly available in the material reviewed. Applicants should ask AUB whether university-arranged or recommended accommodation is available for their intake, and request written details covering rent, deposits, utilities, transportation, visa guidance and student-support services in Barbados.
Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website
Direct flight connections
Approximate economy fares from major hubs to Barbados. Sample estimates - verify with airlines before booking.
| From | Type | Airlines | Duration | One-way (USD) | Round-trip (USD) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Miami (MIA) USA | Direct | American | 4h | $240–$520 | $420–$880 |
New York (JFK) USA | Direct | JetBlue, American, Caribbean Airlines | 5h | $260–$580 | $460–$980 |
Toronto (YYZ) Canada | Direct | Air Canada, WestJet | 5h 30m | $300–$650 | $520–$1100 |
London (LGW) UK | Direct | British Airways, Virgin Atlantic | 8h 30m | $420–$880 | $720–$1500 |
Sample data last verified 2026-06-26. Fares fluctuate by season and demand.
Sources & verification
- CAAM-HP Programmes Directory
- Tuition, intakes, prerequisites — placeholder, replace with verified source
Last reviewed: 2026-06-26. If you spot an inaccuracy, let us know.
Key takeaways
- Accreditation: CAAM-HP - Accredited with conditions.
- Tuition: See the current official fee schedule.
- MD duration: 4 years.
- MCAT: Not listed as a universal requirement; scores may strengthen an application.
- Rotations: Barbados; United States/affiliated clinical sites.
Frequently asked questions
Where is AUB located?
American University of Barbados is located in Barbados, in the Caribbean.
What programs does AUB offer?
American University of Barbados offers MD program. The MD program typically takes 4 years.
Is AUB accredited?
American University of Barbados is reviewed by CAAM-HP. Current status: Accredited with conditions. CAAM-HP: Accredited with Conditions, 2025–2027 (last updated Jan 2026). Prospective students should confirm current recognition on the accreditor's official website before applying.
Is the MCAT required at AUB?
MCAT policy: Not listed as a universal requirement; scores may strengthen an application. Applicants should verify the latest admissions requirements directly with the school.
Does AUB offer US clinical rotations?
US clinical rotations are not reported as a routine track at American University of Barbados. Clinical training is typically completed in Barbados; United States/affiliated clinical sites.
What does tuition cost at AUB?
Tuition: See the current official fee schedule. Verify the current fee schedule on the official school website - figures change by intake and program stage.
Explore next
Related to AUB
- All Caribbean medical schoolsBrowse the full directory of MD and Premed programs.
- Side-by-side comparisonCompare accreditation, tuition, MCAT, and rotations.
- Understanding accreditationLearn how CAAM-HP recognition affects licensing.
- Clinical rotations explainedWhere Caribbean medical students train and why it matters.
- US residency for IMGsUSMLE, ECFMG certification, and the Match for Caribbean grads.
- Tuition and financial aidTypical costs, loans, and scholarships across the region.
