Skip to main content

American University of Antigua College of Medicine (AUA)

Coolidge, Antigua and BarbudaFounded 2004

MD programme based in Antigua with affiliated clinical rotation sites.

MDPremed

American University of Antigua College of Medicine (AUA) is a medical school in Coolidge, Antigua and Barbuda, reviewed by CAAM-HP (Accredited with conditions). The MD program runs 4 years at See the current official fee schedule. MCAT: Required for U.S. citizens/permanent residents; generally not required for Canadian and many international applicants. Clinical rotations: Antigua; United States; selected electives may be available in Canada, UK and other countries.

About the School

American University of Antigua (AUA) College of Medicine is an international medical school founded in 2004 and located in Coolidge, Antigua. It offers a four-year US-model MD programme with basic-science terms on the Antigua campus followed by clinical rotations at a network of affiliated teaching hospitals, primarily in the United States. AUA is part of Manipal Education Americas and enrolls a diverse cohort of students from the US, Canada, India, and beyond. The MD programme is CAAM-HP accredited (with conditions) and prepares students for the USMLE licensing pathway. Applicants should verify current accreditation status, tuition, and clinical affiliations on AUA's official website before applying.

Accreditation

Accrediting body: CAAM-HP

Current status: Accredited with conditions

CAAM-HP: Accreditation with Conditions for 4 years, 2024–2028 (last updated Jan 2026).

Last verified 2026-06-26

Programs

  • Doctor of Medicine (MD)

    Typical duration: 4 years

  • Premed Pathway

    Typical duration: 1y 6m

Tuition

Tuition Breakdown

Year 1US$61,000 - US$63,000
Year 2US$61,000 - US$63,000
Year 3US$68,000 - US$70,000
Year 4US$59,000 - US$61,000

AUA publishes tuition and mandatory fees through its official tuition schedule, and the university has announced a tuition freeze for eligible 2026 enrolments. Prospective students should review the schedule that applies to their specific entry term and programme stage, including any mandatory administrative charges. Housing, transportation, health insurance, textbooks, licensing-examination costs and personal expenses are billed separately from tuition. Fees may change between intakes, so confirm the current figures with AUA before applying.

Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website

Admissions

MCAT
Required for U.S. citizens/permanent residents; generally not required for Canadian and many international applicants
Minimum GPA
-
Prerequisites
At least 90 college credits; biology, general chemistry, organic chemistry, physics, mathematics and English; bachelor's degree preferred
Intake periods
January, May, September
Application deadlines
Rolling admissions

Clinical rotations

Rotation countries
Antigua; United States; selected electives may be available in Canada, UK and other countries
US clinical rotations
Not reported
Canada / UK rotations
Not reported

We list named hospitals only when officially verified.

USMLE preparation & outcomes

AUA's MD curriculum is designed for the USMLE pathway and includes structured academic preparation before students are certified to sit the examinations. AUA's current official promotional material reports a 91% USMLE Step 1 pass rate and a 93% USMLE Step 2 CK pass rate. Refer to AUA's current outcomes page for the exact cohort definition and reporting period tied to those numbers. Residency-application support is provided separately from USMLE preparation.

Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website

Scholarships & financial aid

AUA offers institutional merit, partnership and named scholarship programmes. Some awards can cover a substantial portion of tuition and institutional fees, but amounts and eligibility vary by applicant, entry term and continuation criteria. Not every applicant will qualify for a full-tuition award. Applicants should review the official scholarship and financial-aid pages for current award terms and confirm eligibility with AUA's admissions office.

Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website

Housing & student support

AUA provides student-housing information and relocation guidance for students moving to Antigua. A Fall 2026 Housing Grant has been promoted for eligible students and, subject to conditions, may cover housing through Medical Sciences Semester 6. Treat this as a limited Fall 2026 promotion and confirm eligibility, accommodation type, duration and exclusions directly with AUA. The university also provides academic, wellness and clinical-transition support.

Official information reviewed 2026-07-20 · Official website

Direct flight connections

Approximate economy fares from major hubs to Antigua and Barbuda. Sample estimates - verify with airlines before booking.

FromTypeAirlinesDurationOne-way (USD)Round-trip (USD)
Miami (MIA)
USA
DirectAmerican3h 30m$220–$480$380–$780
New York (JFK)
USA
DirectJetBlue, American4h 30m$240–$520$420–$880
Toronto (YYZ)
Canada
DirectAir Canada, WestJet (seasonal)5h$280–$620$500–$1050
London (LGW)
UK
DirectBritish Airways, Virgin Atlantic8h 30m$420–$850$720–$1450

Sample data last verified 2026-06-26. Fares fluctuate by season and demand.

Sources & verification

Key takeaways

  • Accreditation: CAAM-HP - Accredited with conditions.
  • Tuition: See the current official fee schedule.
  • MD duration: 4 years.
  • MCAT: Required for U.S. citizens/permanent residents; generally not required for Canadian and many international applicants.
  • Rotations: Antigua; United States; selected electives may be available in Canada, UK and other countries.
  • Founded: 2004.

Frequently asked questions

Where is AUA located?

American University of Antigua College of Medicine is located in Coolidge, Antigua and Barbuda, in the Caribbean.

What programs does AUA offer?

American University of Antigua College of Medicine offers MD and Premed programs. The MD program typically takes 4 years.

Is AUA accredited?

American University of Antigua College of Medicine is reviewed by CAAM-HP. Current status: Accredited with conditions. CAAM-HP: Accreditation with Conditions for 4 years, 2024–2028 (last updated Jan 2026). Prospective students should confirm current recognition on the accreditor's official website before applying.

Is the MCAT required at AUA?

MCAT policy: Required for U.S. citizens/permanent residents; generally not required for Canadian and many international applicants. Applicants should verify the latest admissions requirements directly with the school.

Does AUA offer US clinical rotations?

US clinical rotations are not reported as a routine track at American University of Antigua College of Medicine. Clinical training is typically completed in Antigua; United States; selected electives may be available in Canada, UK and other countries.

What does tuition cost at AUA?

Tuition: See the current official fee schedule. Verify the current fee schedule on the official school website - figures change by intake and program stage.

Explore next

Related to AUA